Dorothy DeLay

Dorothy DeLay began her distinguished career as a teacher at The Juilliard School in 1948. Her former pupils include such celebrated performers as Itzhak Perlman, Shlomo Mintz, Nigel Kennedy, Sarah Chang, Midori and Gil Shaham. Violinists of the Juilliard, Tokyo, Cleveland and Vermeer String Quartets and the concertmasters of major orchestras had also studied with her. At the Juilliard School she occupied the Starling Chair, and her summers were spent teaching at the Aspen Music School. She had held master classes around the globe. Among her many honors are honorary doctorates from Oberlin College, Columbia University, Michigan State University, Brown University and the University of Colorado. She was a Fellow of the Royal College of Music in London and holder of the National Medal of Arts (USA), Yale University's Sanford Medal and the Order of the Sacred Treasure (Japan). Dorothy DeLay was on the jury of the Hannover Competition since its inception in 1991. She passed away in 2002, on March 24th.